Frequently asked questions
Yes, we are open 365 days a year, although our office is closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving days. Some say our trout fishing is the best in the dead of winter, so we can stay pretty busy even in January and February.
Yes, we allow dogs only. We strive to have a common-sense policy that allows guests to bring their dogs, while also protecting other guests and property. For $12 per-night-per-pet charge owners accept responsibility to keep their dogs off furniture and beds, walk them on a leash and leave them unattended only in a carrier. We also ask for a cell phone number in case of barking. Damages will incur extra charges. We gratefully expect owners to clean up any messes on the resort grounds — small trash bags are free in the office.
Yes, we have WiFi.
Check-in time is any time after 2 p.m. (3 p.m. for the larger units #16-17-18-23-25 & 26), but boats can be rented as early as 6 a.m. in the summer and 7 a.m. the rest of the year. Guests must check out by 10 a.m. unless late departure has been cleared by the office staff well in advance.
All of our buildings are smoke free year-round. Guests may smoke outside, but there is a $150 fine if smoke is detected inside a room. You are welcome to smoke outdoors as long as it does not bother anyone else, but please ensure that the smoke doesn’t drift into lodging units, the office building or even the public bathrooms.
When a group or family occupies four or more units, one night’s deposit is required to make the reservation, and the total balance of all rooms is due 120 days before the arrival date. This can be paid by installments. If you cancel 120 days before your arrival date, your deposit will be fully refunded. Cancellations made within 120 days of your reservation will be refunded only as we are able to rebook the entire reservation.
There is a grill outside each unit and our staff empties the ashes daily. Unfortunately, grills are not allowed on wood decks and patios by city and state laws. We do sell charcoal and lighter fluid in our shop.
Cancel eight weeks before your arrival date, and your deposit will be fully refunded. Cancellations made within eight weeks of your reservation will be refunded only if we are able to rebook the entire reservation. Early departures will be handled as cancellations and refunded only after we rebook the entire reservation.
We consider a reservation as a simple contract between informed parties, so it is essential that you notify us as soon as possible when you need to cancel in order for us to do our best to re-book the reservation. If a guest does not show up for a reservation, they automatically lose their deposit.
Yes, we do. As of 2018, we’ll need your social security number a well as birth date to sell fishing licenses. (We only need to ask for it once and then it will be in the Missouri system.) We find that most adults know their numbers, but kids under age 16 need trout stamps, and we need their social security numbers if they have not already given one.
Everyone who fishes the upper lake (above highway 65 bridge) needs a trout stamp! To possess (keep) trout lake wide also requires a trout stamp. Kids under 16 and Missouri residents 65 and older do not need a Missouri fishing license.
- Trout Stamp* $7.00
- Kid’s Trout Stamp* $3.50
- Resident License* $12.00
- Non-Resident License* $42.00
- Daily Fishing License $7.00
* Annually from March 1 through February 28.
No, but our neighbors at Cooper Creek has a very nice RV campground. The closest campground would be the State Park Campground near Table Rock Dam.
If you were born after January 1, 1984, you must have a Missouri boater certification card to operate a motorized boat on the state’s lakes. You’ll need to enroll in a boater safety course AND pass an exam for certification. You can complete the state’s boating education requirement online at
For all non-Missouri residents, the boater education law applies to you as of January 1, 2006. You need to have a Missouri Boater Education card or another state’s NASBLA approved card if your birthday is after January 1, 1984. You may obtain a card by successfully passing a Missouri Boater Education course or a comparable course given by Boat-Ed, U.S. Coast Guard, US Power Squadrons, etc.
If you possess a Boater Certification from a state other than Missouri and the course you took is a NASBLA approved course, you can use it in place of the Missouri Boater Certification card. You must, however, have the proof and your photo ID with you at the time you are operating the vessel.
If you have any other questions, please ask.